Water under cabin soles

Maintaining, repairing, upgrading, commissioning, decommissioning topics.

Moderator: forumadmin

blur

Post by blur »

Did our first "real" offshore race this week - 100 mile doublehanded upwind along the Norwegian coast in 25-35 knots!

Boat kept dry inside except wet gear + sails + a few waves coming down the stairs... and sipped down between the floor boards. Some of it got stuck in the kitchen corner against the wood, that starts to look dark after a few hours... wouldn't it be better to leave an inch at the bottom to be able to wipe it away?

Also, when I lifted the boards today there was still water there that will show up the next time the boat sails?

Anyone done any clever arrangements to handle this? Really hate to have water moving around the boat...

Post by Guest »

I've had my floorboards replaced due to rot so I have some experience on the subject.

From what I've seen on the shape of the inside of the hull under the floorboards, there's not a lot of water that can collect anywhere and should mostly drain into the sump. What's little that's left should usually dry up.

The real culprit in my case turned out to be a leaking water tank. The flexible tank had a good size crack at the top seam and would only leak when it had enough water and heeled on long tacks. Unfortunately, this was not discovered until the floorboards had been permanently damaged.

After the tank was fixed, the sump stays dry. I did take the extra precaution of sealing the edges of the floorboards.

[Posted by: Alan
]

Post by Guest »

As I understand it, primary sources of water in the bilge are: 1) loose water heater hose connections, and 2) leaky rudder bearing seal (I expect on older boats only - seems to have been done "properly" on hull 309 in our area). We've had an inspection port put in our galley floorboard so we can wet-vac it dry as necessary.